saved from the trash

Through my FIL, I was able to save a few items from the scrap heap/trash over the Easter weekend.

He had been holding on to a good size ~2′ x 5′ stainless steel screen basket that had been left behind by a client. It was formerly used to harvest algae, but had been sitting outside for years until a good use for it was found. I mentioned my interest in trying to grow some water chestnuts this season and that I would need to keep an eye out for something to use to make a raft to grow them in. If I can rig some lines up to this basket so that I can keep the bottom of the basket 6-12″ under the surface of the water, it should work very nicely!

The other rescued item is a goodly amount of “used” oxygen tubing from a medical supply company. Turns out they can’t reuse it and even unopened packages have to be thrown out if they spent any time at a client’s home. The tubing will be very helpful in training the branches on my trees. Now that the fruit and nut trees had a chance to settle in last year, I will start using stakes or rebar and the oxygen tubing to gently train the branches into better positions for strong angles, air flow, sunlight exposure, etc…

About wellheeledhills

To be updated
This entry was posted in DIY, Fruit Trees, Garden, Introduced/Planted, Nuts, Plants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

