Morels in the Orchard!

I’ve been looking forward to morel season this year and hoping to get some time to go hiking in the hills where I think there would be a good chance to find them… I certainly didn’t expect to find them in the hugelkultur beds!

As we were finishing up the days work in the garden/orchard, I decided to take a look at the buds swelling on the pakistan mulberry. I stopped in my tracks when I saw the size of the morel at the base of the tree, growing amidst the rye and wood chips:

Another dozen or two of it’s friends were hanging out within ~50′ up and down the berm. This section gets quite a bit of afternoon shade from a hundred plus year old oak. There is also a lot of water runnoff in to the bed from up the slope. Whatever works, the morels are happy…

About wellheeledhills

To be updated
This entry was posted in Land and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

